All Sin Is Against God

 Psalm 51:4-5

Against You, You only, I have sinned And done what is evil in Your sight, So that You are justified when You speak And blameless when You judge. Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, And in sin my mother conceived me.

Although David had obviously sinned against Bathsheba, Uriah, Bathsheba’s grandfather and the people involved in the entire scheme with him; David knew and confessed that his sin was against the Lord. Therefore any judgment that God rendered was justified. This was a major admission for David. He understood that the judgment of God had already been served as recorded 3 When I kept silent about my sin, my body wasted away Through my groaning all day long. For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me; My vitality was drained away…” [Psalm 32:3-4] and that it was justified.

We need to contemplate the fact that our sin is ultimately against God and that sin has consequences. In Psalm 38 David again revisited his suffering after sinning with Bathsheba as he described a terrible disease; There is no soundness in my flesh because of Your indignation; There is no health in my bones because of my sin….My wounds grow foul and fester Because of my folly…. For my loins are filled with burning,…”  David is describing a terrible disease that he believed God had inflicted on him because of his sin and folly. He was willing to admit to everyone the serious of his sin and its judgment. Sin ultimately leads to suffering.

But we say I have not committed big sins like adultery and murdered one of my most important subordinates. However, Jesus expanded the commandments to include anger as equivalent to murder and lust to adultery. [Matthew 5:21-22; 27-8] All of us are just as susceptible to sin as David. Any sin of whatever size in our eye is a sin against God that we are answerable for. There will be consequences for us just like for David, even though forgiven.

V.5 David is confessing that he was born with a sin nature like everyone else since Adam and Eve sinned in Eden. The gospel of Jesus Christ provides the only answer to our sin.

Why is it easier to point out the sin others than to recognize the sin in my life? The realization that my sin is against God and others should stimulate me to confession and repentance.  

Henry Luke 8/8/21017

For other posts on Psalm 51 click on “Psalm 51” in Tags below.

This entry was posted in FBC Sunday School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

