I live by faith in Jesus!

Galatians 2:20a “I have been crucified with Christ;” I was there at the cross because my sin was there. On the cross Jesus paid the price for God’s wrath for sin for every person who every lives on earth, mine included. When I believed on Him by grace through faith, the great exchange took place, my sin for His righteousness and I was saved. I was set free eternally from the penalty of sin. I became a disciple of Jesus. A

 20b “and it is no longer I who live,” Through a supernatural act of God I became a new creature with a recreated spirit then.  Then at the rapture of Jesus I will receive my perfect body and live forever with Jesus in the new heaven and earth. B

 20c “but Christ lives in me;”  The Spirit of Jesus came to live in my life and interacts with my spirit enabling me to live a new life free from sins power now. The Spirit will convict me of sin, guide me into all truth and disclose to me what is to come. The Spirit will glorify Jesus, not Himself. Jesus will give me the glory of God, so I can live in unity with other disciples and the world may know God loved all the people of the world. His divine power has given me everything required for life and godliness through the knowledge of Him who called me by His own glory and goodness. C  

20d “and the life which I now live in the flesh” Living in my imperfect physical body now, I still sin when I chose my way rather than His way. When I sin, Jesus is my Advocate. My relationship with God as His child is never broken when I sin, but my fellowship with Him will be impaired until I repent and seek forgiveness. D

20e “I live by faith in the Son of God,” Faith comes from hearing the word of God. Therefore I will continually study and meditate and apply His Word day and night. He promises to never leave or forsake me and will provide a way of escape from troubles. My faith has grown throughout my life as I have depended on Him through many trials, troubles and temptations.  E

20f “who loved me and gave Himself up for me. He loved me so much that He voluntarily endured the terrible wrath of God for the sin of all humans who lived on earth. He is my High Priest. He loves me, forgives me and picks me up when I stumble and fall into sin. F

When I consider all the promises in this verse how can I not surrender my all to Him every day, every moment of my life? Jesus please help me to chose Your way and not my way in the daily battles of war that will last the rest of my life. Protect me from my 3 enemies—Self, Satan and the World System.

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.   

Notes: A- [How to be saved?  2 Corinthians 5:21; John 3:16, Romans 8:1-2, 10:9, 13; How salvation brings freedom!] B- 1 Thessalonians 4:13-17, Revelation 21-22; C- [2 Peter 1:3 HCSB; John 16:8-14; John 17:22-23; Joshua 1:8] D- [1 John 1:5-10; 2:1-2] E- [Romans 10:17; Psalm 119:105; Joshua 1:8; 1 Corinthians 10:13; Hebrews 13:5b-6; Psalm 73:23-26; Psalm 91:1-6] F- [John 15:9; John 3:16; Romans 10:9, 13; 1 John 1:5-10]

Henry Luke 6/22/2017; revised 6/23/2017         

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, FBC Sunday School, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I live by faith in Jesus!

  1. Pingback: My Personal Journey

  2. Pingback: Living a Cross-Centered Life. | My Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

