The Ascension 40 days after Passion Week!

It is now 12:30 p.m., Jerusalem time, the 40th day after the body of Jesus of Nazareth disappeared from the tomb He was laid in after His crucifixion.  Some say his body was stolen by admirers; others says He had become swooned into unconsciousness from the crucifixion and scourging; while some say He was resurrected and, though dead, came back alive.  That’s my struggle and doubt.  I am confused beyond comprehension.  What did happen?  I’ve looked for Him now for 39 days since His body went missing.  My spirit and mind are torn asunder as to who Jesus was and why, exactly, He came amongst us.

I’ve been looking for Him intensely and, with some luck, ran into the leader of His 12 followers just yesterday at the food outlet in the City.  It was Peter, the denier; you know that man who promises much but performs so little.  He talks before he thinks.  He affirmed to me that Jesus had in fact personally appeared to him and the other disciples a mere days after He came forth from the dead.  I didn’t believe it.  That is foolish thinking.  It’s deceptive at best or a lie at worst.

I asked Peter just yesterday afternoon while buying food, “Can you show this Jesus to me?  I would like to identify Him.  I remember what He looked like when He was carrying that ugly, wooden cross on His shoulders down the Via Dolorosa in the midst of Jerusalem on His way to Calvary.  If I see Him again I know I’ll recognize Him.”  You remember, I’m sure what Peter told me yesterday.  He confided to me that I should meet him here today at the base of the Mount of Olives at 1 p.m. to see and hear Jesus while also in the company of all 11 disciples.  So, I’m here.  Waiting!

Within minutes I saw two young men running up the slopes of the Mount in my direction.  It was Peter and his fiend, James.  Both breathing quite heavily, they stopped, and Peter said to me in a command, “Follow me, and I’ll show you Him.”  All three of us then sprinted together to the top of Mount Olivet.  Jesus was already there.  Amazingly to me, yes, it was Him just as Peter had said. IT WAS HIM, YES, IT WAS HIM!   The same man who was carrying a cross to His death and who was laid in the cold, dank tomb.  He was alive!  All the otner disciples arrived and Jesus, the resurrected One, began to talk to all of us.  I’ve never heard words like he spoke. There was tenderness and grace in His voice.  Love glistened from His eyes.   His words had a command and authority attached to them.  I could hear well.  Here’s what He said:

Acts 1:8 {NKJV) But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

Amazingly, just amazingly, Acts 1:9 states, “When He had spoken these things, while they watched, He was taken up, an a cloud received Him out of their sight.”

My eyeballs seemed to extend out of my eye sockets on stems, staring at the unbelievable occurring.  Jesus rose higher and higher as He ascended heavenward to meet a large cloud sent from God who would capture Him and give His Son a ride home to His throne in glory.

“Peter”, I said,” I believe that Jesus is the Son of God.  I believe He died on that cross to shed His blood for my sin, was buried, and now lives again.  I needed and want somebody to do something for me that I couldn’t do for myself.  Peter, I believe.  But Peter, He’s gone.  He has disappeared.  He’s left us.  Will He return?”  “Oh yes”, Peter replies.  “Listen to what He promised”.

John 14:1-6 (NKJV) 

1  “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.
2  In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.
3  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.
4  And where I go you know, and the way you know.”
5  Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?”
6  Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

AC Soud

Could you not watch with me for one hour this Thursday of Passion Week?

This entry was posted in FBC Sunday School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ascension 40 days after Passion Week!

  1. Pingback: The next 39 days pass after the resurrection–Passion Week. | My Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

