The Glory Of God!

And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, John 17:22a

In the scripture above Jesus gave me His glory to be revealed in my life. I believe this verse refers to the present for 5 reasons.  [1] Jesus tells who the “them” is; “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word;” [John 17:20].  Jesus prays for all future disciples beginning in v.20.

The phase above in v.22a is in the present tense as it applies to the “them” or all future disciples. This means that when a person calls on the Lord they will be saved and receive “the glory of God”. ” 9 if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; 13 for “Whoever will call on the name of the Lord will be saved.” [Romans 10:9,13]

 [2] In v.22b Jesus said that they may be one” indicating His desire that today all His disciples be in unity on earth. [3] for a specific reason in v.21d “that the world may believe that You sent Me”  and [4]so that the world may know that You have sent Me, [5] and have loved them as You have loved Me.” v.23c & d.

Jesus gives His disciples His glory so that it may be revealed in us and the lost world may believe that God sent Jesus and they come to know Jesus as their Savior. God loves them as He loved Jesus. Therefore my prayer above is for the glory of God in me to attract people to Jesus.

Dr Erwin Lutzer [1/29/2017 at FBC] said he prays a prayer similar to this every morning before rolling out of bed: “O God may Your glory be revealed in me today, at my expense.” After mediating on this prayer I started to praying it every morning.

The “at my expense” in the prayer indicates I have sacrificed my kingdom for His kingdom and replaced being self-centered with being Christ-centered.

The entire John 17:20-23 scripture passage is below for context.

John 17: 20 “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word; 21 that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me. 22 And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one: 23 I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me.

Henry Luke 2/9/2017, Revised 10/27/2017

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, FBC Sunday School, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Glory Of God!

  1. Pingback: Belong, Believe, Become | My Personal Journey

  2. Pingback: Psalm 141 The Protector– A psalm of David. | My Personal Journey

  3. Pingback: God’s Glory Revealed | My Personal Journey by Henry Luke

  4. Pingback: Aaron Blessed the People | My Personal Journey by Henry Luke

  5. Pingback: The Gospel Proclaimed | My Personal Journey by Henry Luke

Leave a Reply

