Do I accept, neglect or reject guidance? #269

Joshua 9:14 So the men of Israel…did not ask for the counsel of the Lord.

The Gibeonites saw the power of God as Joshua led the nation of Israel into the promised land and knew they were in danger of destruction. They decided to prepare a group with aged provisions and go to Joshua and tell him they were from a far land and wanted a peace covenant with Israel. Joshua and the leaders took note of their provisions and made a covenant with the Gibeonites. Joshua made a huge mistake by not seeking the counsel of the Lord in the matter. Three days after the covenant was made Joshua found the Gibeonites were neighbors living within the land promised to Israel.

I am sure that all believers have been in the same spot on both small and large issues.  How can Inot ask for the counsel of the Lord” since I have been saved for eternity by the grace of God and committed that Jesus is Lord and Master of my life. His presence is constantly available to me, because the Holy Spirit lives within me. I have the Bible, God’s word available asa lamp to my feet and a light to my path”. [Psalms 119:105]  “My feet” refers to guidance today and “my path” refers to guidance for the future. I have no excuse.

Could it be that as I have gained experience solving problems and making decisions, depending on God’s guidance, that I begin to leave off asking for His guidance. That is what Joshua did. They followed His guidance exactly in crossing the Jordan River and taking Jericho. Then they came to Ai, one person out of maybe 2 million had disobeyed God at Jericho and also Joshua did not ask for guidance. Disaster resulted, but they listened to God, corrected their mistakes and took Ai. Then they worshipped at Mount Gerizim and Mount Ebal and heard the results promised by obedience and disobedience to God

The Gibeonites came with their deception and either Joshua thought [1] it was too small a question to bother God, [2] they did not need His help, [3] they did not want to wait on an answer from God, or [4] they were neglectful. We may not access the guidance of God for these same reasons.

I pray that by God’s grace I will diligently seek His guidance for decisions to be made each day and  guidance for the future. May I be continually aware of His presence in my life and His promise in 2 Peter 1:3 His divine power has given us everything required for life and godliness a through the knowledge b of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness.   [a– holiness; b– Bible knowledge and relationship knowledge–by knowing intimately and experientially the power Source.]

I have over 10 posts on my blog related to this subject. Go to “Life Vision”  https://thehlukejourney.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/life-vision-102/ for the first post and then at the bottom in “tags” click on “Life Vision”

Henry Luke 12/13/2016

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, FBC Sunday School, One2Won Sessions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

