Establish Intimacy with God through prayer #193

God wants to have an intimate relationship with each disciple. Psalm 42:2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God; Psalm 63:1 O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You, Philippians 3:10 AMP so that I may know Him [experientially, becoming more thoroughly acquainted with Him, understanding the remarkable wonders of His Person more completely] and [in that same way experience] the power of His resurrection [which overflows and is active in believers], and [that I may share] the fellowship of His sufferings, by being continually conformed [inwardly into His likeness even] to His death [dying as He did];

Prayer is one way to establish intimacy with God.

Matthew 6:
9 “Pray, then, in this way: ‘Our Father who is in heaven, Hallowed be Your name.
10 ‘Your kingdom come. Your will be done, On earth as it is in heaven.
11 ‘Give us this day our daily bread.
12 ‘And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.
13 ‘And do not lead us into temptation [test or trial], but deliver us from evil. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.’

Use the prayer in Matthew 6 as a model for prayer.

*Brag on God the Father, the Creator and Sustainer of the universe and thank Him that He has made a way for me to call Him Father in Jesus Christ.
*Pray that I would honor the name of God.
*Pray that God would be acknowledged as holy and glorified in my spheres of influence (self, family, church, job, friendships, etc.).
*Pray for the kingdom of God to expand in my heart, throughout our community and the rest of the world.
*Pray that I do God’s will.
*Recognize my sins (name them), repent and confess them to God.
*Thank God for my blessings (name them).
*Ask God to fill me with the Holy Spirit today and the gift of the fruit of the Spirit.
*Pray in God’s will for the daily needs in my life and the lives around me. Use personal and class prayer lists.
*Ask God to protect me from temptations, tests and trials and deliver me from Satan.
*Ask God to show me anyone that I need to forgive.

This outline includes the elements in Adoration-Confession-Thanksgiving-Supplication. This helps me to focus on the 1st three elements of prayer.

Other ways to establish intimacy with God:
Bible study with meditation and application
Obedience to God’s commands
Loving Jesus
Abiding in Christ
Serving others
Suffering

Henry Luke January 11, 2016; Revised 5/3/2017

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, One2Won Discipleship Training, One2Won Sessions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Establish Intimacy with God through prayer #193

  1. Ginger Soud says:

    Excellent post Henry! Oswald Chambers is excellent on the subject of Intimacy with Jesus in two or three devotions this month.

    Ginger

    Ginger Soud, Broker

    Ginger Soud Realty

    904-997-7777

Leave a Reply

