God gives His disciples grace one day at a time #179

Disciples are made many promises about grace in the New Testament. First “by grace you have been saved through faith”. (a) Then as disciples we are promised: “greater grace”(b); to “be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.” (c); to “draw near with confidence to the throne of grace” (d), etc.

The experience of the Israelites in the wilderness may be an example for disciples today. God provided the Israelites manna for 40 years in the wilderness. Each morning the manna appeared and they were to gather enough for their family. “he who had gathered much had no excess, and he who had gathered little had no lack”. (e)

They were going through a testing: “You shall remember all the way which the LORD your God has led you in the wilderness these forty years, that He might humble you, testing you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not”. (f) They received enough manna for one day or 2 days for the Sabbath. Thus for 7 days times 52 weeks times 40 years or 14,560 days they were totally dependent on God for their daily food.

God was trying to teach them, you can trust Me. In the same way disciples who have been saved by grace can walk each day by grace. Not enough for a week but for a day. We are totally dependent on Him for our salvation without one bit of merit or work on our part.

Each morning I receive my gift of grace as I totally trust Him and totally depend on Him. As long as I walk within this circle of grace everything is fine, but if I decide I can take control of my life and make independent decisions for my self, trouble comes. In that case, I need grace by the hour as I repent and return to total dependence.

How long will it take me to realize that I can trust God and walk by grace through faith throughout the day?

Will I need 14,560 days, more or less?

Dr. Mac Brunson’s sermon series “Have We Missed It?” will be a help: http://www.fbcjax.com/media/archives/action,view/id,63

Henry Luke October 4, 2015
Notes:
a- Ephesians 2:8; b- James 4:6 https://thehlukejourney.wordpress.com/2014/08/16/god-gives-greater-grace-56/ ; c- 2 Timothy 2:1; d- Hebrews 4:16; e- Exodus 16:18 f- Deuteronomy 8:2

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, FBC Sunday School, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God gives His disciples grace one day at a time #179

  1. John McCorvey, Jr. says:

    Despite God’s miraculous provision, the Israelites still lacked trust in God. God forgave them anyway. Numbers 14:20. However, they did suffer the consequences of their sin. Numbers 14:21-35. We look at them and say “How could they ignore the miracles?” But don’t we (I) do the same thing. Over and over again, God has worked wonders in my life and yet I still lack 100% trust in God. I suspect I am not alone in that regard. I have already needed more than 14,560 days, and thank God that His mercies are new each day.

Leave a Reply

