How to pray in times of distress # 110

David’s Prayer!
Psalms 142: 4 …For there is no one who acknowledges me; Refuge has failed me; No one cares for my soul. NKJV

King Saul’s rebellion and disobedience caused God to reject Saul and have Samuel anoint David at Bethlehem as King (A) in 1024 BC (B). However, David did not assume the role of king but went back to tending sheep. That year David killed Goliath and over time became a hero in Israel. He married the king’s daughter, became good friends with Jonathan the king’s son, played the harp to soothe Saul, ate at the king’s table and was almost a member of the family for nearly 12 years.

David’s popularity caused Saul to turn against David and try to kill him many times. Finally in 1012 BC (C) David fled from Saul the last time and ended up in the cave Adullam where he wrote this Psalm of great distress and loneliness.

1 ‘I cry out to the LORD with my voice; With my voice to the LORD I make my supplication. 2 I pour out my complaint before Him; I declare before Him my trouble. 3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, Then You knew my path. In the way in which I walk They have secretly set a snare for me.

David cried out with his voice and made supplication to the LORD v1. He poured out his complaint and trouble to God, but not against God v2. His spirit was overwhelmed and his enemies had set a snare for him v3. Then he said I am alone and “No one cares for my soul”. This is a plea that every disciple should listen for and respond with the love of Jesus.

He continued to call on God for relief from his persecutors vv5-6. Saul had the power of the kingdom with him and David was alone in an isolated cave. Finally David ends; “Bring my soul out of prison, That I may praise Your name; The righteous shall surround me, For You shall deal bountifully with me.”v7

I believe it is important to recognize that two times David could have killed Saul but refused to harm God’s annointed. (E) Instead he waited on God. In 1010 BC Saul and his sons were killed in a battle with the Philistines. (F) David was made King over Judah (G) for seven years and then over all Israel for 33 Years. (H)

Charles Spurgeon said “God’s bountiful dealing is sure to bring the sympathy and alliance of all the favorites of the Great King. What a change, from looking for a friend and finding none to this enthusiastic concourse of allies around the man after God’s own heart. When we begin a Psalm with crying, we hope to close it with singing. The voice of prayer soon awakens the voice of praise.”

Treasury of David Psalm 142 by Charles Spurgeon

Henry Luke Feburary 4, 2015 Notes: A-1 Samuel 16; B-Dates are from Bible Hub http://biblehub.com/timeline/old.htm ; C-1 Samuel 21; D-1 Samuel 13:14;E 1 Samuel 24 & 26; F-1 Samuel 31; G- 2 Samuel 2; H-2 Samuel 5

Helps for effective prayers! https://thehlukejourney.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/helps-for-effective-prayers-62/

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to pray in times of distress # 110

  1. Pingback: Suffering? #112 | My Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

