Life Vision/Purpose

I grew up on a small dairy farm in Mississippi. I had a Vision beginning in 1950 when I was 13, “to get off the farm”. My first step was to graduate from high school. However, I clearly remember the week of depression after graduation. Then followed a hard 5 years with very limited money to graduate from Mississippi State University with a degree in Civil Engineering. The same week of depression occurred. As life progressed I found that as I met one goal I was immediately faced with another one, most of the time harder.

Let me introduce Ezra who lived after Queen Esther. This Old Testament Scribe had an ultimate life purpose to study the word of God, practice it and to teach it“. (A) Because he had this purpose, about 455 BC he left Persia and went to Jerusalem. He had an impact on the people of his time and us today through his writing Old Testament books and protecting the scrolls from Genesis through the Psalms. Like Ezra every individual needs a Life Vision.

In about 1980 I developed my own process for strategic planning. First find your purpose or vision, then develop the strategies and action steps to make the vision reality. From 1983 to 2014 we used this process of strategic planning or visioning in over 60 regions in the US and one Caribbean county.

This process also applies to individuals. Unfortunately most people do not have an ultimate purpose they are pursuing in life. That means there is not a purpose or vision to give direction in decision making. Without a clear vision of the future any road will get you to your destination. Here is a chart that will help you determine where you are today: What is your Life VISION

In 1986 I developed a Vision statement for my life that was based on scripture. “Do all to the glory of God” (B) I have used this purpose as a guide in making decisions and plans for the future.

Part of my visioning process is to constantly “Review, Revise, and Refocus” strategies and action steps. After 29 years I also reviewed my purpose statement and revised and refocused as follows:

My Life Vision: By the grace of God do all AA to the glory of God : Knowing God is present in my life C; Pursuing intimate relationships with Triune God & my holiness HLoving God and others D; Making disciples E Walking humbly F; Being thankful I & encouraging.

Notes: AA- “all” means everything in my life with family, at work, play, pleasure, worship, church, etc.; A- Ezra 7:10; B- 1 Corinthians 10:31; C- 1 Corinthians 6:19, John 17:22-23; D- Mark 12:30-31; E- Matthew 28:18-20; F- James 4:6-10; H- 1 Peter 1:15-16; I- 1 Thessalonians 5:18; J- 2 Peter 1:3; 3:18; 1 Peter 1:8 NLT; John 17:22; Ephesians 5:18; 3:20 NLT.

I would encourage everyone to develop a long term or ultimate purpose statement for their life based on scripture. Call me at 904-318-5266 or email mail@lukevision.com for any help I can give you.
Henry Luke January 12, 2015 Revised 3/1/2017; 6/17/2017

 

In “Tags” below click on “Life Vision” for other posts in this series.

Here is a J. D. Greear sermon “Does my life have a purpose?” that you may find helpful,
Transcript: http://www.summitrdu.com/wp-content/uploads/sermons/2015/10/4g-Psalm-57-Does-My-Life-Have-a-Purpose.pdf

Andy Stanley Sermon–A life of Purpose
If you want to become a better person, focus less on yourself and more on doing something to make the world a better place. We don’t want to give up some life. We want to preserve our lives. But Jesus said that the only way to live a life of purpose and meaning is to give our lives away.”
http://northpoint.org/messages/resolution/pro-motion/

5 Scriptural Ways We Experience the Leadership of the Holy Spirit!! By J. D. Greear
1. Through the word of God
2. In our giftings
3. Through the church
4. In our spirit
5. Through our circumstances
Transcript: http://www.summitrdu.com/wp-content/uploads/sermons/2016/02/7e-Jesus-Continued-2-5-Ways-Spirit-Leads3.pdf

For more on humility: https://thehlukejourney.wordpress.com/2014/08/16/god-gives-greater-grace-56/comment-page-1/

For more on the presence of God: https://thehlukejourney.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/do-you-have-the-glory-of-god-within-you-52/

Henry Luke Revised 2/23/2017

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life Vision/Purpose

  1. Ginger Soud says:

    Ginger

    Ginger Soud, Broker

    Ginger Soud Realty

    904-997-7777

  2. Pingback: The Tyranny of the Urgent | My Personal Journey

  3. Pingback: Business PROFILE—Henry Luke in 1986 #161 | My Personal Journey

  4. Pingback: 70 Resolutions of Jonathan Edwards #201 | My Personal Journey

  5. Pingback: Daily Living and Decision-Making #234 | My Personal Journey

  6. Pingback: Do I accept, neglect or reject guidance? #269 | My Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

