To Do Or To Know? #96

Is Jesus primarily interested in what I do for Him or my relationship with Him—abiding in His presence? When I was saved or justified I immediately become a member of the family of God and joint-heirs with Christ (a); a temple of the Holy Spirit (b), and Jesus said to His current and future disciples “The glory which You have given Me I have given to them and I in them and You in Me,” (c).

So the disciple is constantly in the presence of God! The question is, do I acknowledge the presence of the Holy Trinity in my life and receive the comfort, protection, power, peace and unspeakable joy that is already mine. I can be so involved in doing things for God that I neglect His presence.

The bible speaks to the desire of God for me. Jeremiah said “You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” (d) The Psalmists said “Seek the LORD and His strength; seek His face [presence] continually.” (e); “O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You” (f); and I exalt You, my God the King, and praise Your name forever and ever. I will praise You every day; I will honor Your name forever and ever. (g) Proverbs “I love those who love Me; and those who diligently seek Me will find Me.” (h)

In the Chronicles “if My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face [presence] and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” (i);

Isaiah said ” At night my soul longs for You, Indeed, my spirit within me seeks You diligently;” (j)

Paul said “that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection” (k); ” Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice!” (l); and “in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (m).

My prayer is that I will continually seek the reality of the presence of God in my life. This is true worship. It must begin with effective daily Quite Time Devotionals that provide an opportunity for God to speak to me through His scripture, my listening to Him and communication with Him through prayer.

In the line at the top of this blog post; click on “Follow” and provide your email address to receive my blog posts automatically. Thank you.

Henry Luke December 29, 2014

Notes:
(a) Romans 8:14-17; (b) 1 Corinthians 6:19; (c).John 17:20,22-23; (d) Jeremiah 29:13; (e) Psalms 105:4; (f) Psalms 63:1; (g) Psalms 145:1-2 HCSB; (h) Proverbs 8:17; (i) 2 Chronicles 7:14; (j) Isaiah 26:9a; (k) Philippians 3:10a; (l) Philippians 4:4; (m) 1 Thessalonians 5:18

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

