Job said, “My Redeemer Lives” #37

Job 19:(NASB)
23 “Oh that my words were written! Oh that they were inscribed in a book! 25 “As for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last He will take His stand on the earth. 26 “Even after my skin is destroyed, yet from my flesh I shall see God; 27 whom I myself shall behold,

Job had terrible tribulations described in Job 1 & 2. His wife said to him; “Curse God and die” Job 2:9-10. His three friends blamed his tribulation on his sin. However, in v. 23 Job was expressing a desire for a permanent record to comfort others facing tribulations. That record was created and some 4,000 years later we are reading Job’s words.

V25a Job recognized that his Redeemer lives. Nearly 2,000 years ago, the Son of God, the Redeemer Jesus Christ left heaven and entered the human world as a baby born in a lowly stable. He lived a sinless life and was crucified for the sins of the entire human race. (John 3:16; 2 Corinthians 5:21;1 Corinthians 15:1-8)

V 25b Job said his Redeemer will return to earth. After the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ, He ascended into Heaven and His return was promised. This 2nd return is a future event described at His ascension in Acts 1:9-11. Vv 26-27a Job says that after His death, in my flesh in a future time, with my eyes, I shall behold Him.

There is no doubt as described throughout the Bible that this same Redeemer will return a 2nd time and all believers will arise and see Him face to face. (1 Thess. 4:13-18)

Job was human and he was going through incredible suffering. This statement of trust in God by Job is a powerful example. Two events have already occurred, 1) recording of his words and 2) the first entrance of Jesus Christ, the Son of God into the human world as Redeemer.

Every day I must decide if I will be judgmental and critical or if I will encourage someone with the hope of Jesus Christ.

April 23, 2014 Henry Luke

This entry was posted in Discipleship Training, One2Won Discipleship Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

